Washington, DC - Maruyasu Industries Co. Ltd., an automotive parts manufacturer headquartered in the Aichi Prefecture in Japan, pleaded guilty and was sentenced to pay a $12 million criminal fine for its role in a criminal conspiracy to fix prices, rig bids, and allocate customers for automotive steel tubes incorporated into vehicles sold in the United States and elsewhere, the Department of Justice announced Thursday.

Indianapolis. Indiana - Two Lake County, Indiana men, both members of the Chicago-based Latin Kings, were convicted by a federal jury in the Northern District of Indiana of conspiracy to participate in racketeering activity and conspiracy to possess with intent to distribute and distribute cocaine, marijuana and alprazolam, announced Acting Assistant Attorney General John P. Cronan of the Justice Department’s Criminal Division and U.S. Attorney Thomas L. Kirsch II for the Northern District of Indiana.

Washington, DC - The Department of Justice announced Monday that it is requiring Bayer AG to divest businesses and assets collectively worth approximately $9 billion in order to proceed with its proposed $66 billion acquisition of Monsanto Company.  The proposed divestiture to BASF, an experienced chemical company with a substantial crop protection business, will fully resolve all horizontal and vertical competition concerns.  As a result, American farmers and consumers will continue to benefit from competition in this industry.

Sacramento, California - Governor Edmund G. Brown Jr. Friday announced the following appointments:

Washington, DC - Secretary of State Mike Pompeo: "On the 29th anniversary of the violent suppression of peaceful demonstrations in and around Tiananmen Square on June 4, 1989, we remember the tragic loss of innocent lives.

Sacramento, California - Governor Edmund G. Brown Jr. today announced the appointment of 21 California superior court judges, which include: Two in Alameda County; one in Humboldt County; one in Inyo County; one in Kern County; 10 in Los Angeles County; one in Riverside County; one in San Bernardino County; one in San Diego County; one in Solano County; one in Trinity County; and one in Tulare County.