Washington, DC - Secretary of State John Kerry: "The United States condemns ISIL’s vicious murder of Japanese journalist Kenji Goto. We extend our sincere and heartfelt condolences to his wife, his family, and his loved ones, as well as to the people of Japan.

Washington, DC - The United States strongly condemns today’s terrorist attacks in Egypt’s North Sinai Governorate in which at least twenty nine Egyptian citizens were killed and dozens others wounded. We express our sincere condolences to the victims, their families, and the government and people of Egypt.

Washington, DC - The United States is concerned by the Ethiopian Federal High Court’s January 28, 2015, decision to proceed with the trial of six bloggers and three independent journalists on charges under the Anti-Terrorism Proclamation. The decision undermines a free and open media environment critical elements for credible and democratic elections, which Ethiopia will hold in May 2015.

Washington, DC - The United States strongly condemns Hezbollah’s attack today from Lebanon on Israeli Defense Forces (IDF) in blatant violation of the cease fire between Lebanon and Israel and UN Security Council Resolution 1701, which called for the immediate cessation by Hezbollah of all attacks. We support Israel’s legitimate right to self-defense and continue to urge all parties to respect the Blue Line between Israel and Lebanon. We urge all parties to refrain from any action that could escalate the situation.

Washington, DC - The United States is deeply concerned by reports of the arrests and indefinite detentions of Equatoguinean citizens protesting the expenditures incurred by the Government of Equatorial Guinea to host the ongoing Cup of African Nations (CAN) football tournament. Celestino Okenve, a member of the opposition party Popular Union, and Antonio Nguema were both detained on January 14, and Miguel Mbomio was arrested on January 16, accused of distributing or possessing literature calling for a peaceful public boycott of the CAN football matches.

Washington, DC - The following is a joint statement on Libya by the Governments of the United States, France, Germany, Italy, Malta, and the United Kingdom.