Washington, DC - President Donald J. Trump Approves Alaska Emergency Declaration:

Today, President Donald J. Trump declared that an emergency exists in the State of Alaska and ordered Federal assistance to supplement State, Tribal, and local response efforts due to the emergency conditions in the areas affected by an earthquake on November 30, 2018.

The President’s action authorizes the Department of Homeland Security, Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), to coordinate all disaster relief efforts which have the purpose of alleviating the hardship and suffering caused by the emergency on the local population, and to provide appropriate assistance for required emergency measures, authorized under title V of the Stafford Act, to save lives and to protect property and public health and safety, and to lessen or avert the threat of a catastrophe.

Specifically, FEMA is authorized to identify, mobilize, and provide, at its discretion, equipment and resources necessary to alleviate the emergency’s impacts.  Emergency protective measures, limited to direct Federal assistance, will be provided at 75 percent Federal funding in Anchorage Municipality, Kenai Peninsula Borough, and Matanuska-Susitna Borough.

Brock Long, Administrator, Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), Department of Homeland Security, named Willie G. Nunn as the Federal Coordinating Officer for Federal recovery operations in the affected areas.