Washington, DC - U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry and U.S. Secretary of Energy Ernest Moniz will co-host the seventh U.S.-EU Energy Council meeting on May 4 at the Department of State in Washington, D.C.

Participants from the European Union include Federica Mogherini, Vice President and High Representative of the European Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy; Maros Sefcovic, Vice President of the European Union for Energy Union; Miguel Arias Cañete, Commissioner of the European Union for Climate Action and Energy; and Sharon Dijksma, Minister for the Environment of the Netherlands.

The Energy Council, a forum on U.S.-EU energy priorities, promotes energy security based on transparent, open and secure global energy markets. It also fosters cooperation on efficient and sustainable energy use, and pursues joint research and development on clean energy and energy efficiency technologies.

Following the December 2015 adoption of the Paris Agreement, the Energy Council also provides a platform for transatlantic dialogue on the best means of accelerating the transition to clean energy.